Taylor of Old Bond Street Sandalwood Shave Soap with Bowl, 100g

Share

Taylor of Old Bond Street Sandalwood Shave Soap with Bowl, 100g

Rating
14 Review(s) Availability: Out of stock
AUD
$45.00
Reviews & Comments
Ask a question
Write a Review

Items 1 to 10 of 14 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Items 1 to 10 of 14 total Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Show per page
Great scent Review by J
Rating
In my opinion this is a great soap for the price. It has a fairly strong scent of sandalwood. As soon as the lid is lifted, my bathroom is filled with the scent. It is quite pleasing. The lather is quite nice as well. Some of the comparisons to shave creams in other reviews confuse me. Shaving cream is always going to be easier to lather. With proper technique you can achieve the same result with soap. I've been loading my brush out of the bowl and haven't noticed the wood warping as a result, so the soap doesn't seem to require removal from the bowl. I definitely recommend if you want to go veteran mode. If you want to go easy mode, go with the cream. Even if you’re new to shaving I implore you to go with the soap. It’s so much more rewarding than using a cream in my opinion. Wet shaving isn’t about convenience, it’s about the ritual. It’s about maintaining a practice that is slowly being forgotten by time. Keep it alive. (Posted on 7/11/2018)
Average performer Review by Richard
Rating
The shaving cream version of this product outperforms this soap by a mile.

The slickness is Average, skin protection is very good but the softening of the hair is not so great.

Lather is nice and creamy but requires more effort to create compare to its competition. You will need to load a lot onto a brush to benefit it’s full performance.

As for durability I don’t know I haven’t used the product long enough. (Posted on 31/05/2018)
Awesome Review by daniel
Rating
Everything about this product is perfect. It is a bit pricey and bought it as a treat, after using it no regrets at all.
Great lather
Great smell
What else you want. (Posted on 7/05/2018)
The BEST there is! Review by Paul J Clarke
Rating
This is by far the best shaving soap I've ever used. Starting with the scent, the subtle Sandalwood is masculine, but not so much that it is overpowering. Fantastic for various woody scented aftershaves, but will as easily compliment any cool menthol or floral aftershaves. Lathering up is very easy, both directly onto the brush, and again in a separate lathering bowl. Lots of soap is generated, but it is not bubbly or foamy. It's thick, soft, peaky lather, and will lather with any water. This is particularly useful for me as my area has quite coarse water. Going on the face is very easy with any brush and it comes off just as easily. There is a great slickness left by the soap afterwards, so theoretically you could go over areas again without lathering (I generally just reapply a touch of lather anyway). It is fantastic for all skin types, and has really suited by neckline, which has always been a little sensitive. It doesn't dissipate quickly either, so if you like to take your time it'll hold nicely. The wooden bowl is a lovely addition, and is finished and treated well, so over time it doesn't lose its varnish or shape. I would recommend this for any wet shaver regardless of experience. On a side note, I also found it complimented the Gillette 7O'clock super stainless blades perfectly. (Posted on 21/02/2018)
Old School Review by Kieran
Rating
Really old school product that hasn't needed to be changed over the years! Good value for money i feel like i will never finish this bowl. Good fragrance not too strong and seems to last after shaving! (Posted on 13/11/2017)
Excellent Soap Review by Sean
Rating
Great shaving soap. I had been using Wool Fat for quite some time and this produces a thicker lather with a great scent as a bonus. (Posted on 14/08/2017)
My Go to product Review by Ajay
Rating
It doesn't matter how long you've been away from this product, you always go back. I've used this since it first came to Mens Biz and both the lather and sandalwood smell are great. The wooden bowl is a great addition to any bathroom counter. You'll enjoy this for sure! (Posted on 8/06/2017)
Smell is awesome! Review by Philip
Rating
Loving the smell of this soap. I usually use Trumper Cream but wanted something a little more special and the hardwood bowl was just the thing! Like other reviews the soap is a bit harder to lather, but once it is there it is fine. The smell as stated is awesome. I had tried the Trumper Sandalwood and the scent was gone soon after shaving. This seems to last a lot longer on my skin. I think I will try the Sandalwood Shaving Cream next time and see if I can get the best of both worlds! (Posted on 29/11/2016)
Good, but not as good as the Shave Cream Review by Madison
Rating
The bowl is lovely. I find the soap harder to work with than the shave cream from TOBS, the lather is not as thick and the smell not as nice. (Posted on 21/09/2016)
Very Impressed Review by Greg
Rating
I choose this soap as my first purchase of quality shave soap, the difference between this and supermarket shelf soaps is well...incomparable really. I was hesitant to outlay the dollars at first but upon using I now see the value . This will seriously last a long time, looks great in the classy wooden bowl, has a nice scent not too strong and doesn't linger, took a few goes to get lathering process right for me but now am so happy with it .
Mens Biz service is second to none next day delivery and a free sample hard to improve on that. !! (Posted on 22/08/2016)
FREE SAMPLES WITH EVERY ORDER
100 DAY RETURN POLICY*
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50*