Feather Safety Razor Co AS-D2S Stainless Steel Safety Razor & Stand

Share

Feather Safety Razor Co AS-D2S Stainless Steel Safety Razor & Stand

Rating
10 Review(s) Availability: In stock
AUD
$329.00
+Free Delivery
OR
AUD
$329.00
+Free Delivery
OR
Reviews & Comments
Ask a question
Write a Review

10 Item(s)

per page
10 Item(s) Show per page
Agree Andrew...Not for everyone Review by David
Rating
No question of quality of razor, just doesn't work for me personally. The different angle, the blade set back from the edge, it combined to make this unsuitable for me. So if your new to DE Shaving don't be dazzled by the price and set your judgement on this alone. At least try and determine if Feather blades work for you (in most cases people prefer this blade, I don't it causes my skin to react and cut's deep)if they do then this is a good match, as I found it sedated the feather blade. However it did the exact opposite with my preferred Gillette yellow 7 o'clock. I got it as a promotional gift so I didn't cop the steep price (Posted on 14/03/2018)
Elegant safety razor Review by Nick
Rating
After reading many reviews I decided to take the plunge and buy the Feather AS-D2s. This is a beautifully machined and expertly crafted razor. The shave ,yes it's very mild but gives a good shave with minimal irritation. Learn the proper angle and technique and you will be rewarded with a great shave. (Posted on 4/03/2018)
Not for everyone Review by Andrew
Rating
I rate this razor 3 stars solely based on shave quality. It is beautifully made, hard to cut yourself with and should last a lifetime but I personally find the shave quality inconsistent. The small blade gap and 45deg angle needed makes it tricky to use under the nose and below the jawline so I find myself having to go over the same place multiple times which results in irritation. Prior to purchasing this razor I would alternate between an EJ89 and cartridges. I put the EJ89 in the back of the vanity when the Feather arrived although a week ago I thought I would give it another go (Astra blade). To my surprise I got a wonderful great shave straight off the bat – easier to use under the nose, no irritation and a much more consistent shave. Perhaps the Feather has helped me hone my technique over the past 6 months. Whilst the EJ89 is more aggressive than the Feather I find it easier to produce a quality shave as you have more play with the angle + 30deg seems easier to me than 45deg. I know most people have had much more success with the Feather than me – I can only rate it based on my personal experience. Good luck if you decide to give it a go. (Posted on 23/10/2017)
All hail the Feather AS-D2 ! Review by Rudi
Rating
This razor is very mild, as many will tell you. It is very mild, but it is also very effective, at least on my face! Shaving with the Feather AS-D2 reminds me of my electric shaves of the past, when I would throw an electric Braun around my face with wild abandon and without any danger of being hurt. I swear it feels just like that - the Feather just glides over my face!

My first shave with the razor was interesting. I started off like I would with any other DE razor, paying close attention to the angle and making sure I wasn't exerting any undue pressure. I was being careful. But... after a few moments I realised that I can just relax and let the razor do its work. Sure, I still held the the razor by the handle and applied the razor head to my face, but that is where the similarities to other DE razors ended - it really felt like I was shaving with an electric again. In a good way! (I seriously reckon I could get hurt worse with a Gillette cartridge, but maybe that was just bad technique on my part, back in the day).

So... as you can probably guess, I am pretty impressed with the Feather AS-D2. So much so that this will be my default everyday shaving tool. The razor I will reach for when I just want to achieve a damn fine shave without any dramas or surprises. I really didn't expect to like it straight away, but my first shave with it was an unqualified success. And every shave since then.

I'm glad I spent the extra $50 on the razor and stand set - the stand is gorgeous and very functional. Perfect! (Posted on 6/02/2014)
Brilliant razor. Review by Christopher
Rating
I originally started with a Merkur Futur and soon realised I was looking for a razor which provided me with more precision handling.

Instantly in using the Feather razor I knew that it was the razor for me. At first I was not able to achieve my best shave but knew with practice and attention to technique it would provide a great shave as in the hand it is extremely balanced, easy to control and very forgiving in terms of irritation etc.

Now after using it for a few weeks I am getting great shaves that keep getting better. Now practiced in handling the feather it is extremely forgiving even with feather blades and remains free of water stains etc. due to its stainless construction.
(Posted on 3/08/2013)
Best I have used. Review by Robert
Rating
The Feather AS is all precision & quality.
I use this razor daily on a med/heavy beard and love it. It feels quite mild with a Feather blade but is extremely effective. For me, sharp blade and good technique gives the best overall result.
The blade angle is slightly different than most razors and takes a little getting used to, however it doesn’t take long to get the feel.
One of the things I have noticed about the AS is I get a lot more mileage out of my blades. Up to 6-8 good shaves as opposed to 3-4 good shaves with a Gillette Tech using the same blades. Possibly because the design locks the blade in place right to the edges eliminating any flex and enabling it to slice through heavy whiskers without bouncing.
Worth the money and will last forever.
(Posted on 7/02/2013)
Extravagant but Ordinary Review by Shaun
Rating
Nice packaging, dead shave. Way too mild, plus you have to hold the thing in some peculiar way to get it to work even half efficiently. This might put you off wet shaving if you're a newbie. But, if you have a light sparse beard, it might be just right. Or, if you are happy to take half an hour each day going over and over and over the same rough patches, just go right ahead and spend spend spend. (Posted on 22/01/2013)
A purchase you won't regret Review by Sean Sydney
Rating
One of my best purchases for 2012!

I actually look forward to shaving with this razor. It's simple design and satin finish that give it a look as sharp as the feather blades themselves! Extremely well balanced with a nice weight to it and as Boris the Blade says "Heavy is good, Heavy is reliable".

If I had the money, I would buy these for everyone in my family. I find this razor, coupled with Feather blades and Acqua Di Parma Shaving Cream will give you a shave that'll make you wonder why you didn't make the change to DE shaving years earlier!

I have used a whole DE blade sampler pack in this razor and all blades work well and all fit perfectly into the razor itself so don't worry if the feather blades aren't for you (Posted on 13/12/2012)
Incredible but takes time to perfect the technique... wow. Review by Mosco1000
Rating
I am new to DE shaving, and this is my humble opinion. Fell in love with it from word go. After a couple of months with my Merkur HD I narrowed down to Astra and Persona blades, the combination was perfect for closeness and comfort. Of course the RAD got the better of me and I was on the prowl for a new razor to add to the trusted HD. After much review reading plunged into the Feather AS. I have strong stubble and realy sensive skin on left side of neck area with whiskers growig in all directions. The Feather with feather blade was just magic, a totally different shave though and I am still perfecting my technique, but everytime I get it right its an awesome start to day. Take your time to learn it with Feather, it shaves very differently to HD, milder, kinder but so good IMHO . I was surprised how far I could push it and still no cuts, incredible.The great thing is now I can shave against the grain for a super close shave and no irritation on my neck! Enjoy!!!! (Posted on 1/10/2012)
Incredible but takes time to perfect the technique... wow. Review by Mosco1000
Rating
I am new to DE shaving, and this is my humble opinion. Fell in love with it from word go. After a couple of months with my Merkur HD I narrowed down to Astra and Persona blades, the combination was perfect for closeness and comfort. Of course the RAD got the better of me and I was on the prowl for a new razor to add to the trusted HD. After much review reading plunged into the Feather AS. I have strong stubble and realy sensive skin on left side of neck area with whiskers growig in all directions. The Feather with feather blade was just magic, a totally different shave though and I am still perfecting my technique, but everytime I get it right its an awesome start to day. Take your time to learn it with Feather, it shaves very differently to HD, milder, kinder but so good IMHO . I was surprised how far I could push it and still no cuts, incredible.The great thing is now I can shave against the grain for a super close shave and no irritation on my neck! Enjoy!!!! (Posted on 1/10/2012)
FREE SAMPLES WITH EVERY ORDER
100 DAY RETURN POLICY*
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50*